i weigh myself

i weigh myself,

i don’t need you to weigh me.

how many pounds for a heart

or all the love i’ve made?

bent pages of a magazine

the endless sea of white teeth and perfect thighs

in more than one square box

scrolling.

i weigh myself,

i don’t need you to weigh me.

how much for my wit,

or the nights i’ve stayed up laughing?

for every comment by every person

who chose to measure my worth by the thickness of my waist

and then tell me about it.

i weigh myself,

i don’t need you to weigh me.

how many pounds for the way i dance when i cook,

or my husband’s hand in its favorite place on my hip?

every rotten thing i’ve said to myself in the mirror

and then believed,

i weigh myself.

i don’t need you to weigh me.

can you measure the way i listen to a friend

or make my mother proud?

conceal, shape, pluck, shave, spritz,

contour, smooth, reshape, retouch,

reapply.

i weigh myself,

i don’t need you to weigh me.

how much for my words?

 

 

Leave a Reply

